Becoming an official member of the International Quidditch Association opens up a world of possibilities for your league. You will gain representation in the international Congress, as well as in standing committees and other working groups of the IQA as appropriate.

Members can expect a wide range of benefits outside of representation, including advice on developing, managing and sustaining quidditch in your country, and eligibility for development grants. You will have unprecedented access to the collective experiences of league directors, leaders and innovators from across the world.

Membership in the Congress is a three-tier system consisting of member National Governing Bodies (NGB), developing NGBs, and emerging areas. Eligibility for each tier is determined by a metric called the Quidditch Development Index (QDI), which is proportional to the number of players in the NGB. If a country hasn’t completed an accurate player census, the IQA uses a ratio of 1 team = 15 players as a conversion. The IQA QDI Development Committee advises Congress regarding the QDI.
The three types of leagues are differentiated as follows:

Member National Governing Body

Members need at least 3 teams, a national championship, and a National Governing Body comprised of staff from at least three teams, or unaffiliated staff.

Full members get delegates as follows:

  • <200 players : one (1) delegate
  • 200 – 1999 players : two (2) delegates
  • 2000+ players : three (3) delegates

Developing National Governing Body

Developing leagues have two teams or more and a QDI below the threshold set by the IQA and are entitled to an independent voice in the IQA Congress, but cannot vote. Developing leagues are required to have evidence of regular competitive play.

Emerging Area

Emerging areas have more than zero teams, but might not have a governing body or evidence of regular competitive activity. Emerging areas are represented in the IQA Congress through IQA expansion staff; they do not have representatives of their own.